WidenersReloading EverythingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Titan ReloadingPBcastcoLoad DataLee Precision
Repackbox MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Question on pan lubing vs 45LLA/45/10

Boolit Bub

Question on pan lubing vs 45LLA/45/10

Hi to all you pan lubers out there, it looks like you only fill the pan to where the bullet seats up until the brass or to just fill in the bullet groove. How far do you go? Why are you not putting something on the tip of the bullet to prevent the lead from oxidizing or tarnishing over time? I am new to casting boolits but have experience in casting fishing sinkers and jigs. If you do not cover the lead it oxidizes over time, sometimes getting darker loosing that silver shine or other times forming a white crud on it. I would think you would want to tumble tube to cover the whole bullet if you want to store them over time. Why not just tumble lube with 45 LLA/45 JPW/10 MS if people say it works? Did anyone not have luck with 45/45/10?

Boolit Grand Master

Lubes for pan lubing or in a lube sizer over the front band collect dirt and other crud. Any of these lubes outside the case suffer this drawback. The coating of these lubes is also thicker and on firearms with limited or no camming may make chambering harder to do. The first round is the one that might need it after that the barrel is coated with a thin layer of lube from each shot again.

Boolit Master
    I've not had any long stored bullets develop a white crud. I have had some, notably WW turn dull but did not seem to affect performance although it is unsightly. I lube prior to use and don't long term store lubed bullets and loaded ammo doesn't stay loaded very long around here.

Banned

the white is lead oxide it generally forms from being exposed to water.

I do a lot of term storage of normal lubed boolits, 5 gallon buckets do a great job.
    if I were to put some stuff up for true long term storage I would just do a coat of Hi-Tek and then lube before loading.