Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionPBcastcoReloading Everything
RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLoad Data
Wideners Inline Fabrication

Thread: using Lyman 450

Boolit Mold

Question using Lyman 450

I am just getting into details of casting and have this question. I have done some 235 grain 45LC bullets with flat base. I just did some 45LC 300 grain w/gas checks. I have the Lyman 450 luber/sizer.. I have been using the heated hard stick lube, but then after that I also have been coating with liquid Alox. Is this necessary or unnecessary with the 235 or the 300 grain bullets w/ gas checks? (using Alox and hard stick both?)

In Remembrance

If a decently good quality of stick lube is used in the 450 lube/size action then the alox isn`t needed.Robert

It also depends on how well those CB's fit your gun, how fast you want to push them, and how hard your alloy is. Liquid Alox works for me when velocity is <1,100fps with plain base CB's in my Ruger SBH, for ex., but your results may be different. As Hc416t said, a good quality stick lube is likely a good choice. Liquid Alox is what I use when I'm lubing large quantities of CB's which aren't going to be driven more than 1,100fps and often slower.
    Last edited by Maven; 03-23-2017 at 03:49 PM. Reason: additional information

Banned

only way to find out is to not use it.
    it doesn't hurt anything to add the extra coating lube over the wax lube.
    and quite often a tumble lube will actually help accuracy.

in many of my long nosed rifle boolits I very lightly lube the nose after loading the round.
    it helps accuracy

Boolit Grand Master

It's like wearing a belt and suspenders.