Graf & SonsLee PrecisionStainLess Steel MediaInline Fabrication
ADvertise hereRotoMetals2Titan Reloading

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Autoscale

  1. #1
    Boolit Master




    Echo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    4,190

    Autoscale

    I have an Autoscale that I picked up on eBay, and never used. My son noticed it one time, and said that a company he worked for used one in their reloading for armor-piercing trials. I finally decided to give it to him - but I'm not sure of the power requirements. I got it a couple of years ago, it has sat in one place for that period of time, and a wall-wart power supply was sitting next to it, that I imagine goes with it - but I'm not sure, and don't want to burn up any equipment putting 12 volts into a 6-volt circuit.
    Anyone out there know FOR SURE what the requirement is? I tried searching on line, but no joy. HELP!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1150[1].jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	85.2 KB 
ID:	191005Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1151[1].jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	69.9 KB 
ID:	191006
    Echo
    USAF Ret
    DPS, 2600
    NRA Benefactor
    O&U
    One of the most endearing sights in the world is the vision of a naked good-looking woman leaving the bedroom to make breakfast. Bolivar Shagnasty (I believe that Lazarus Long also said it, but I can't find any record of it.)

  2. #2
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,470
    I found this:

    https://www.thehighroad.org/index.ph...supply.568310/

    Lyman bought the Autoscale from Arcadia Machine and Tool (AMT). It could be from AMT. I almost bought one in the early 90's but folks were complaining about their consistency. Prometheus came out at an impossible price so I bought my still in use RCBS 304.

    If all else fails you could find an electronics geek with the modern day version of a Variac to figure the voltage requirement.

    After blowing up the pic I see it is AMT. Good Luck

  3. #3
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    2,235
    I have three of these. Two Lyman orange, and one black
    110
    9v DC
    200ma
    Is the power supply that came with them. It's marked Lyman so it is original.
    I'm assuming that the AMT and Lyman use the same power supply.
    I've used them for years now.
    Never uses anything else anymore.
    Except on the progressive.

  4. #4
    Boolit Master

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Northwest Ohio
    Posts
    7,246
    I had one of the AMT years ago it does a good job but I found it slow weighing full rifle charges. I started dropping light charges then starting it to speed it up. as to the power supply I don't remember what it was and Ive long ago sold the unit to a fellow club member. There might be a tag on the unit that gives the requirements though.

  5. #5
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    161
    I can't help with the electrics but obviously some Ohaus input there. It has exactly the same scale beam as the, now discontinued, RCBS 5-10 and 10/10.

  6. #6
    Boolit Master
    Czech_too's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    408
    I got one of these, used, strictly for stick powder, I like it.
    The power supply does not have Lyman nor AMT on it, but ...
    Input - 120 VAC, 60 Hz, 11W
    Output - 9VDC, 500mA
    Model No. DV-9500
    Cruffler

    genealogy, another area of interest

    feedback - http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...9613-czech_too

  7. #7
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    2,235
    Picture of power supply.
    Attachment 191274

  8. #8
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,828
    I know it's not the one you have but its not unheard of for companies to have changed voltages in an item. I think RCBS has changed the chargemaster 3 different times, I have two of them.


  9. #9
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,100
    There are at least 2 different plug and Jack combinations for these scales.
    They use the same voltage,polarity and amps. The early version uses a male audio plug that results in the unplugged connector having an exposed contact that is hot. There. Is voltage on the exposed plug.
    The later version has a conventional power plug with the hot contact shielded in the center.7
    EDG

  10. #10
    Boolit Mold
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1

    Are you interested in selling your autoscale?

    Quote Originally Posted by Echo View Post
    I have an Autoscale that I picked up on eBay, and never used. My son noticed it one time, and said that a company he worked for used one in their reloading for armor-piercing trials. I finally decided to give it to him - but I'm not sure of the power requirements. I got it a couple of years ago, it has sat in one place for that period of time, and a wall-wart power supply was sitting next to it, that I imagine goes with it - but I'm not sure, and don't want to burn up any equipment putting 12 volts into a 6-volt circuit.
    Anyone out there know FOR SURE what the requirement is? I tried searching on line, but no joy. HELP!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1150[1].jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	85.2 KB 
ID:	191005Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1151[1].jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	69.9 KB 
ID:	191006
    Are you interested in selling your autoscale?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check