MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingRepackboxLee Precision
Load DataReloading EverythingWidenersRotoMetals2
Snyders Jerky Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Digital scale drift

Digital scale drift

I have a cheap Hornady digital scale that is iffy. I will be weighing powder and sometimes before I drop it on there it will read -.4 grains. So I rezero it and go but I don't really trust it and end up pulling out the old 505. Is it just because its cheap or are they all like this. Thanks
    NRA Life Member
    Amvets life member

Banned
    I never owned a digital scale but I am wondering if you are using the protective plastic shield that comes with some if not all of the better scales. Most of these domes are designed so that they will go over the powder pan and they have a hole in the top and powder is insered thru the hole. Soulds like it may be getting a draft.

Boolit Buddy
    I have been using their scale for a few years and haven't had any problems
    I read that one thing you should do is wait 15 mins to let it warm up before actually using it.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Banned
    One would think the electronics would stabilize before 15 minutes.

I have two digital scales, one is an RCBS and the other a cheaper model somewhere from China ordered on eBay.
    Both need about 20 minutes for the electronics to warm up and stabilize, after that they both are fine and measures accurately for long periods.
    The problem with the real "cheap" scales are that they are only battery operated and have "auto shut off" which prevents the electronics to warm up properly.

Boolit Grand Master

What do your check weights say? I have a PACT that I leave plugged in. It holds zero for weeks. Probably more, but I recalibrate it before every loading session and have never let it sit longer.