MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
RepackboxLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Load Data
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky

Thread: First try at Paper Patching....

Boolit Bub

First try at Paper Patching....

OK, I decided to take a swipe at paper patching, since I've tried so much other stuff. I figure it might be interesting, especially since I've been shooting mainly cast bullets for 20+ years now.

I sized down some of my cast 435 grain 45-70 slugs, figured out the length I needed to go just a hair shy of 2 full wraps, cut out some patches, made a bullet board, and used spit to moisten the patches for rolling purposes.

I'm still working on trying to keep the amount of spit and the paper stretch consistent, but I managed to get 20 halfway decent patched rounds done. It only took me 30 patches, LOL!

Anyway, I'll have to size them down a bit to fit properly, but they should work well enough for me to have a little fun with. Here they are, sitting upside down drying...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2367.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	230.4 KB 
ID:	188274

Perm-Banned
    when you see the results of accuracy you will want to keep doing it. 435 is is good weight for a 1/18 twist 45/70. most shooters want heavier bullets but 450 to 485 grains can do great at 500 to 1000 yards. im sure 435 will give you good accuracy also. i wouldnt work so hard with the spit. water works just fine. keep us posted as to the results. make sure to use a good wad between the powder and the base of the bullet. and wipe the bore between rounds.

In Remembrance

I also started with the `spit patch` method of wrapping, I soon tired of the dry tongue and mouth and went to using the damp sponge method to wet the patches. I get a chuckle out of peoples comments about who taught me this method? With a straight face I reply` Buffalo Bill taught me back in the buffalo hunting days when I was a lad`!Robert

Boolit Grand Master