Load DataTitan ReloadingReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders JerkyRepackboxWidenersLee Precision
RotoMetals2 Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DougGuy works his magic

Boolit Mold

DougGuy works his magic

I took my new Ruger Bisley 45 to Doug's yesterday to get the cylinder opened up. Had a great chat with him and some of the best coffee I've ever had. After firing a couple hundred rounds through it the week before I knew something wasn't right. 4 to 5 inch groups with proven loads off the bench at 25 yds is not normal. All my previous experience with wheelguns has been with jacketed bullets so they're more forgiving of certain problems. I'm still learning about all this cast stuff.
    Sure enough it was typical Ruger 45 cal. All the charge holes were tight.
    Doug cleaned up the forcing cone and opened up all the throats to a uniform .4525.

I took it to the range today and begin some test firing. Using the standard pressure 45 load this time my groups shrunk in half, some even smaller right around the 1 1/4 inch mark.

I wished I would have taken before and after pics of my groups but I didn't. You'll just have to take my word for it. He did discover some constriction at the usual spot and suggested shooting it a while before deciding whether or not to lap.

He does a great job and here's a pic of my finished cylinder.

http://s1202.photobucket.com/user/Do...vbs0d.jpg.html

Boolit Master

Well, What kind of coffee is Doug serving these days?
    Being human is not for sissies.

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by square butte View Post
    I don't know the flavor but it was well worth the drive.

Vendor Sponsor

Quote Originally Posted by square butte View Post