Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRepackboxWideners
RotoMetals2Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionLoad Data
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Coatings toxic breakdown products

Boolit Mold

Coatings toxic breakdown products

I was on another gun forum and posted up how using the wrong coating on bullets can produce toxic vapors, and someone suggested I post up here.

First: I am a coatings chemist with 30 years experience inventing paints and coatings. I have dozens of published articles, many patents and travel around training people on coatings technology.

Second: I want to make people aware of the dangers, flame away if you like, but before the dangers were exposed, people thought smoking was healthy also.

Third: It is nearly impossible to tell if a coating will give off toxic combustion products or not. Normal decomposition for organic matter used in coatings is anywhere from 250F to 900F. The temperature the coating is likely to see during firing is above that, and coatings companies do not want to pay for expensive testing of their coatings for conditions they will normally not see. The hot gas from combustion of reloading powder and friction in the barrel will exceed normal temperatures that coatings are subject to.

So what is toxic? Most coatings (especially powder coatings) are pre-reacted from a resin and a crosslinker. The resin is normally epoxy, polyester or acrylic based. Decomposition products from these are normally carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide, but can also contain aromatic functionality. This can lead to benzene in the case of incomplete combustion.

The crosslinker may be the issue. They can be isocyanates for acrylics and polyesters, melamine formaldehydes for acrylics and polyesters, and amines, amides or phenolics for epoxies.

Isocyanates can produce hydrogen cyanide during combustion. It lists this on the SDS.