Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersLoad Data
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionReloading Everything
Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Accuracy problems

Boolit Bub

Accuracy problems

I am very new to paper patching and having lots of problems with accuracy and leading. I am using a 303brit #1mk3 with a .303 bore and .316 groves. The boolit is a lee-C309-180-R it has a .305 nose and .310 bands and cast from wheel weights. I use #9 onion skin paper and have tried 2,3 and 4 wraps from .314 to .319 and wrapped from the bands to the tip with no luck at all, it shoots about a 6ft. spread at about 30 yards.I twist the tails and clip,set them in a unsized case and let the bolt seat them.I have tried from 7 to 13 grains of red dot with no luck and 26 to 36 grains of IMR 4064. Does anyone have any suggestions that might help?

Boolit Master
    a 6ft. spread at about 30 yards.
    problems with accuracy and leading
    Wow!! That's awful. Maybe try a light neck re-sizing to tighten the boolits neck tension. As read apparently your powder charge isn't given enough time to get a good burn going before the boolit leaves the cartridge case.
    I would like to welcome you to this site.

Super Moderator

A much slower powder would be the first thing I would try.

Boolit Bub
    Do you think the 4064 is still too fast? Also I have tried seating deeper, to the crimp grove and slightly less with lite crimp and without. Same results.

Super Moderator

I started paper patching with IMR4064 and had "OK" results. I then switched to Varget and things got a little better. Next I tried W760, (H414) and things really started to come together. If you have any IMR4831 or 4350 you might try those as well. You also may want to look at a little fatter boolit (.311-312) to patch up to where you need to be.

Boolit Bub