Inline FabricationRotoMetals2WidenersSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLoad DataReloading Everything
Lee Precision Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reclaimed lead question

Boolit Buddy

Reclaimed lead question

Howdy ya'll

I've been casting for several years now and have had good luck using reclaimed lead from our Cowboy range. But I've gotten a lot of lead from a local range that has full jacketed bullets.
    Heard they would pop open when you melt them back down. Anybody had any personal experience with these?

Boolit Master

I've melted down a bunch of range scrap which contained jacketed stuff and I've never had one go. Not saying that it won't happen but it hasn't happened to me./beagle
    diplomacy is being able to say, "nice doggie" until you find a big rock.....

Boolit Master

I never had an issue with them. I melted them with the bunch of reclaims and they came out empty.
    I did melt hot. The jackets floated and got scooped out. The guilded jackets floated also
    I saved that melt to mix with wheel weights. They were too soft for me as is.
    I had thought I had the grail with range lead. I did not really like it. Every time I would go shooting, I always brought back a bunch. The range closed at 2:00pm on week days. They let me stay late and pick through the berm. Too much work for too little result. I have stuck with wheel weight since then.

Boolit Master & Generous Contributor

I've melted down a few buckets of range scrap. I get a small pop every now and then from a FMJ that hasn't been cracked. I just put the lid on my dutch oven till it all has been melted.

Boolit Master

I came across a fmj that hadn't popped while sifting through the chaff from melting down range lead. I crushed it in a vise. It emptied out nicely the second time through the pot.

Boolit Master

That is my trick with all my smelting. I start with a cold pot. I cannot tell you how many times I have had pops! with all kinds of scrap.