Reloading EverythingRepackboxTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
WidenersLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Lee Precision Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Roll Crimp 12G Hull Length

Boolit Bub

Roll Crimp 12G Hull Length

Hi all,

I'm new at roll crimping and have some 2.3/4" once fired hulls that I'd like to use. Measuring the fired shells, they are indeed 2.7" something...

To roll crimp I'd have to trim the "star/fold" crimp at its base. Would the resulting shell be too short, or OK?

thanks in advance
    GB

The easy answer to that is to load that shell.

Chances are a load designed for a roll crimp is going to be a fair bit shorter than one designed to be crimped.

I do roll crimp some loads but I am cheating and using new primed hulls. That fold crimp is about perfect to roll over.

Are you SURE you have to cut it off?

I suspect that if you do you are going to be short.

Boolit Master

have you seen the shorty's that are available commercially. I have been doing just what you describe, started out using in a single shot and then tried them in a pump, they cycle and fire just fine.

ttps://www.cheaperthandirt.com/category/ammunition/shotgun/12-gauge/mini-and-short-shells.do

Some fold crimped fired hulls roll crimp fine without being trimmed and some will not. Published load data isn't going to work if you trim the hull.

BB

Boolit Master
    ALL depends on what you want to load. you can roll anything that will suit your load.
    remember that a shotcup type will be problem if you don't cut the top off.

Boolit Bub
    Hi all and thanks for the replies...

So I shouldn't roll crimp say a shell with a lee 1oz key slug in a 1oz shotcup wad? I will be roll crimping mostly .690" Lee RB. Got some equipment from Ballistic Products, roll crimper, hull vise and the trim doctor..What I gathering here is that I should play with the wad/filler wads until I get the desired height?
    thanks
    gb

Boolit Master