RepackboxInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
Reloading EverythingRotoMetals2WidenersLoad Data
Titan Reloading

View Poll Results: Do you lube or powder coat the cast boolits?

Voters
775. You may not vote on this poll
  • Lube

457 58.97%
  • Powder Coat

350 45.16%
  • Other

61 7.87%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 17 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Do you lube or powder coat the cast boolits?

Do you lube or powder coat the cast boolits?

Online it seeming like powder coating is to becoming very popular thing with cast boolits. So, do you lube or powder coat your bullets?

Boolit Master
    I've been lubing for 40 yrs, and I'm not changing my ways now. I like the looks of a properly filled out lead bullet, sized and lubed. I don't like the looks of a painted bullet.

Boolit Buddy
    Powder coat has been cheap and easy. Guns clean up spotless, to date.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	650 
Size:	97.6 KB 
ID:	178284
    Last edited by Eddie17; 10-06-2016 at 05:06 PM. Reason: Try to add picture

Boolit Master

I seem to shoot about everyday and always have ammo available. This is without using a progressive press or lube/sizing machine. I pan lube, dip lube and tumble lube. For me, it is cheap and fast, but not always neat.

Boolit Grand Master

I an lube and shoot as cast. But I also only am casting for BPCR rifles currently. On some low use bullets I hand lube filling the grooves with SPG and my thumb / finger also.

Super Moderator Emeritus
    In tests with my ransom rest the powder coat lacked a slight amount on accuracy. For the normal shooter it would not matter. It was enough that I will stay with my squeeze and grease.
    I will say the powder coat Bullets averaged 3.78 faster than lube. If I had guns that leaded I think powder coat would help with clean up. Now the P C people will debate but the same barrel same brass same components was used in the tests.

Banned

lube.