RotoMetals2Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
RepackboxLoad DataSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
Inline Fabrication Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pop my cherry

Pop my cherry

This is my first post so be gentle. Didn't know where to post this question. I figure all of yall must know what your doing to some extent. I'm just getting into reloading. I picked up two boxes of primers the other day , large pistol. After putting them all in I discovered one box was large rifle. My bad I should have checked each box but I didn't. So can I pop all these primers back out and tell the difference in the two? Or can I still use them like they are? What's the difference? 45 Cal. Thank you

Boolit Master
    Large rifle primers are taller than large pistol primers and generally have thicker cups. Run your finger over the base of the case and you should be able to tell the difference, the rifle primers will stand out more.

If you do choose to deprime the live primers just take it easy, don't slam the case into the die. You probably won't set one off doing this but it can happen.

Thank you sir.

Boolit Grand Master
    did you seat more than 100
    did you take the primers out of 2 different packs
    you should be able to back out the large rifle,but do it easy
    i hope you gathered something from this,its easy to get things mixed up
    take your time no distractions
    Hit em'hard
    hit em'often

Boolit Grand Master

I have deprimed literally hundreds of live primers, carefully, and never had one go off. They all fired when loaded appropriately, too.
    Wayne the Shrink

There is no 'right' that requires me to work for you or you to work for me!

I grabbed two boxes off the shelf never looked at the second one. Just lost some time. I can use the large rifle primers. Your right that won't happen again. Just glad I noticed at all.

Boolit Grand Master