RotoMetals2WidenersReloading EverythingLoad Data
Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
Snyders Jerky Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to remove the "flash" from the bottom of bullets.

Boolit Buddy

How to remove the "flash" from the bottom of bullets.

Background: I have been casting since about 1965. I started with Lyman single-cavity bullets. Currently, being interested in high production rate due to shooting every day (have my own backyard range), I am using two (that's right, two), Lee six-cavity molds that I fill and empty alternately. One of the cavities (the one in front by the sprue bult), will leave some flash on the bullet.

I have tried tumbling, but the flash just seems to bend over instead of coming off the bullet base. Currently, I sort them out and trim each by hand using a box cutter. However, my volume is so high that I want a faster way to do it.

In as much as I am Powder Coating the bullets, I cannot just leave the flash on.

So, my question is, has anyone found a better way of removing flash and/or excess lead from the bullets? Please note, that I am not asking for ways of keeping the flash from occurring...with Lee molds I have discovered that each has its own characteristics and the cavity that produces flash on top is not likely to be remedied with any simple trick that I have not already tried.

Moderator Emeritus

I have one troublesome mold and I use one of these in a battery screwdriver.

http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/product...8jmqi6h61slib3
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

Boolit Buddy