Reloading EverythingInline FabricationRepackboxSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Load Data RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cast lead bullets

Boolit Mold

Cast lead bullets

Forgive me if this question seems stupid but I'll ask anyways
    Im a machinist and have access to all kinds of CNC Lathes and regular CNC Is it possible based on the hardcast lead properties by using an end mill to make a slight hollow point out of a Hardcast bullet for my 500 S&W, Best of both worlds if could get some expansion and deep penetration without blowing up, could experiment and use a 90 degree 1/4 drill mill or other varying diameter sizes 3/16,1/8 etc. and varying depths. Thanks
    Last edited by leadtag; 07-03-2016 at 03:49 PM.

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by leadtag View Post
    Forgive me if this question seems stupid but I'll ask anyways
    Im a machinist and have access to all kinds of CNC Lathes and regular CNC Is it possible based on the hardcast lead properties by using an end mill to make a slight hollow point out of a Hardcast bullet for my 500 S&W, Best of both worlds if could get some expansion and deep penetration without blowing up, could experiment and use a 90 degree 1/4 drill mill or their varying sizes 3/16,1/8 etc.of varying depths. Thanks
    Either I asked the question of the century or it was the most foolish question unworthy of a response LOL.

Boolit Master
    I suspect folks were confused by the post. Are you talking about using a CNC to actually drill a hollow point in each bullet? OR, the CNC to make a hollow point mold? I think you're talking about drilling each bullet? Should work, and with the CNC a bullet holder might be designed to quickly insert and remove each bullet for drilling.

With CNC you could also quickly change the design of the hollow point to allow quick testing of each design for expansion.

Ken H>

over the hill, out in the woods and far away