RotoMetals2RepackboxTitan ReloadingLoad Data
WidenersSnyders JerkyInline FabricationReloading Everything
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Other than Lee casting equipment....

Boolit Mold

Other than Lee casting equipment....

I am new to casting and want to purchase the proper equipment once. I have heard good things about Lee and bad things too so for my dollars I will just pass on Lee. I'm searching for moulds of quality for a 6 cavity. What are some molds to buy (brand names please) as well as ones to stay away from.

I will be using revolvers only to start for casting. 38, 44 and 45 colt(please suggest a bullet size and shape). All target practice NO HUNTING! NO GAS CHECKS!

I have heard of moulds that you can add a device to make a mould into a hollow point, if someone can share that info that would be great too.

Lee molds are probably the best bang for the buck but I've gotten bad ones. There are definitely better quality molds out there. Look in the group buy sections there a lots of quality molds there you can get in on. Several molds have pins that create hollow points or hollow bases.
    On every question of construction let us carry ourselves back to the time when the Constitution was adopted, recollect the spirit manifested in the debates, and instead of trying what meaning may be squeezed out of the text or invented against it, conform to the probable one in which it was passed.

Thomas Jefferson, letter to William Johnson, June 12, 1823

Boolit Master
    If you stick to the 6-cavity versions, I had nothing but success with them. That being said I do favor NOE, Mihec/MP, or Accurate molds these days. Due to the amount of material they use vs the lees, a 4 cavity is about as heavy as I go.