MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Reloading EverythingRepackboxSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am an inept electrician

Boolit Master

I am an inept electrician

I am making a case collator. And I want to put 2 micro-switches in the feed tube. But I am unsure how to wire the switches. I have a hard time comprehending electrical skamaticks (sp), but if I see a picture I can understand that. Kevin

Boolit Grand Master

Join the club! I don't even try.
    Wayne the Shrink

There is no 'right' that requires me to work for you or you to work for me!

Boolit Master

terminal post ►*\ *◄other terminal post

For a switch you cut the hot lead in half and hook the ends to the terminal posts. In the crude sketch the switch is open and when it's closed that \ in the middle connects the 2 posts together and current can flow thru. I'd imagine a micro switch is the same principle.
    Mike

Benefactor Member NRA
    Life Member Iowa Firearms Coalition
    US Army Vet

There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation.
    One is by the sword. The other is by debt.”
    John Adams 1826

Boolit Master
    Think of it like plumbing, same thing only different. Switch is a shutoff valve.

Boolit Master
    I am going to assume that you want a start switch (lower), and a stop switch in the upper position. In this case you would want to wire the switches in series, hot line to one side of the start switch, then a jumper from the other side of the start switch to one side of the stop switch, then one wire from the other side of the stop switch to the motor.

you really could get by with just one (normally closed) switch at the top of the drop tube to control the amount of brass in the tube. (By normally closed I mean that when the brass in the tube activates the micro switch the contacts in the switch open and turns the current to the motor off.)

Moderator Emeritus