Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
Repackbox Load Data

Thread: NOE 358-135-FN - Have to Size?

Boolit Buddy

NOE 358-135-FN - Have to Size?

I love this mold! I'm fairly new to casting, got this mold used and it drops great bullets on the second pass.

My question is sizing. Is that needed with this mold? Mine drop .3575-.358 with wheel weights. I opened up my 356 lee sizer to .357. All measure with digital calipers.

I made a dummy round of a sized round and non-sized round. Both cycle. Loaded to 1.100. I bet if I drop to 1.055 they would drop even more. I've never loaded that short.

I cycled them in a CZ TS 9mm, XDM 5.25 9mm and Springfield 1911 9mm. All chambered and were able to be cleared and ejected.

I've got about 200 I'd say made and would looovveee not to have to size them.

What are the consensus?

Oh, they have 45/45/10 on them too.

Thanks!

I have that mold in a 5 cavity and it drops boolits just like yours. It is the most accurate boolit I have for my 9mm guns(the NOE 358-155-tc(elco) being a very close second). I tumble lube them and load them unsized. My Beretta 92fs will eat boolits even larger than these so I don't even bother sizing boolits from this mold any more.
    Accuracy and function are unchanged from when I was sizing them. If they aren't concentric when they are loaded, they will be by the time they reach the muzzle.

Boolit Buddy
    Thanks for the reply! I ran a few through at .357 and barely any resistance. Think I'll do one more dummy round seated a tad deeper and if it chambers, it's load time.

Regarding the 358-155-tc. I got in on that group buy, have with one with pins and had the worst luck getting that to work. Granted I didn't have a hot plate yet and it was my first mold.