Titan ReloadingWidenersLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataRepackboxReloading Everything
Snyders Jerky Inline Fabrication

Thread: Older Lee Loader Charge Data

Boolit Mold

Older Lee Loader Charge Data

Hello,

I am new to castboolits and I'm excited about getting into cast bullets and reloading. I have a quick question about using older Lee Loaders. I've searched through the messages and cannot find one on this topic. I have several Lee Loaders from the 1960's-70's, which belonged to my father (photo attached). I have used them in the past for .38 Special/.44 Special, but it's been at least 30 years since I've done so. I recently broke out some of these old loaders and in looking at the charge data on the accompanying cards I see load data for some powders that might not exist any longer (Nobel Pistol No.2&3, Hodgson HP38, WIN.231, Hercules Bullseye, etc.). Does Lee have updated charge tables for these loaders which shows data for current powders on the market?

Then other question I have is about the plastic scoops from these older kits. The ones I have are labeled differently (I think) from ones from newer kits. Likewise, I have a Lee Universal Scoop kit containing probably 20 different sized scoops. Again, this piece is probably 35 years old. Is there anything I should be aware of when using scoops from older kits? I will be using a mechanical powder scale along with these Lee Loaders just to double check the powder loads but I'm just curious about the above.

Thank you,
    Orin
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i-R498Gdw-XL.jpg 
Views:	224 
Size:	59.6 KB 
ID:	166212
    Last edited by Orin; 04-14-2016 at 02:55 PM.

Boolit Grand Master
    First of all, welcome aboard.

I recommend getting a current loading manual, some data from days gone by is iffy at best.