RepackboxRotoMetals2WidenersSnyders Jerky
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
Inline Fabrication Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Draw Die Help

Draw Die Help

I have some friends who have fancy tools, and who are willing to help me make some draw dies to turn .223 cases into .338 jackets. I already take .375 copper tubing and reduce it to .338 diameter. From what I understand brass isn't as easy to work as copper and so I will need a intermediary draw step. I'm having a hard time figuring out what should be the first draw but looking at the cases it would seem to me making the case a uniform diameter is a good place to start.

I have some experience with designing tooling, but not draw dies or punches. Here's a rough draft of what I am thinking, any help in this would be appreciated.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	73.0 KB 
ID:	165398

I was thinking of making it out of A2, but I am not a machinist so I would defer to those whom have more experience in order to choose materials.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Capture.PNG  

Boolit Master

I would recommend a shallower angle leading to small diameter, more like 5 or 10 degrees.
    To lazy to chase arrows.
    Clodhopper

Boolit Master
    D-2 is a little more stable in heat-treat. It is also more abrasion resistant. Both can be hardened to about 60-62 rc. (cutting tool Hard) If well polished, should work for a loooong time.

Boolit Master

Why not make your intermediate die .355 or .356. A .358 jacket is a little too big for 35 caliber bullets. If your intermediate die produces a usable jacket, that's a bonus. You never know when you'll find a 35 Whelen you can't resist. It happened to me.

Bob
    Si hostes visibilis, etiam tu