Snyders JerkyRepackboxTitan ReloadingLee Precision
Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataRotoMetals2
Reloading Everything Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Subsonic load testing in a M96 swedish mauser

Boolit Buddy

Subsonic load testing in a M96 swedish mauser

Hi everyone, I am a reloading novice so please take that into account with what I'm writing here. I have been dying to try out my swedish mauser since I got into reloading/casting about a year ago and finally got around to it yesterday. I have read a ton on this rifle (mostly on this board) and realize it is hard to get high velocity out of it with cast, so I decided to go the other route and see how slow and quiet I could load it down to.

There is a thread here where an experienced shooter discusses his quiet/silent loads for a swedish mauser and reading that got me thinking of trying to make this a dedicated silent-shooter for yard work and or general fun factor. In particular someone mentioned in the thread "too bad you don't have all the length of the original m96 barrel, that would be even quieter" (he was using the shorter m38 if I remember right) That got me thinking: hey, I have the full length one, maybe I should try that.

So, toward that end I started working down with bullseye loads to see how quiet a round I could develop. Since this is a bit of an oddball experiment I thought I would post my results here for anyone else interested in the concept.

Here is my detailed data so you know how I got my results:
    Brass: PMC HS brass from factory jacketed loads once fired in my rifle (so formed to my chamber), SS tumbled clean
    Primers: CCI large rifle regular primers
    Powder: Bullseye from an old cardboard 4lb tube, hercules brand so pretty old and not the same as new I think
    Bullet: lyman 266469, COWW+2% tin, air cooled, 50/50 white label lube, all grooves filled, sized .266 (.264 bore slug)