Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationRepackboxWidenersLoad Data
Titan Reloading Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lyman 55 mesure. Drops vary

Boolit Buddy

Lyman 55 mesure. Drops vary

OK, so I am a little new to using this old Lyman 55, and just wondering if its normal for the drops to vary a tenth or two one way or the other. Im loading with Bullseye, and HP38, in 38spc, and 45acp. Is a tenth or two normal range for varying? I do try to be consistent with how I use it.

Might be difficult with small charges of Bullseye, but I try to open up all 3 sliders so the interior opening is deep instead of wide.
    Helps with stick powders, particularly, but has worked well for me with others.
    Yes, a tenth or 2 (sometimes) variation (+/-) is not uncommon with the 55.
    A bear, however hard he tries, grows tubby without exercise.

Vendor Sponsor

Is a tenth or two normal range for varying

yes it is
    [SIZE=4][B]Selling Hi Quality Powdercoating Powder

I carry a Nuke50 because cleaning up the mess is Silly !!

http://www.bing.com/search?q=nuke50&...7ADE&FORM=QBLH

I am not crazy my mom had me tested

Theres a fine line between genius and crazy .. I'm that line
    and depending on the day I might just step over that line !!!

Boolit Master
    When setting up a 55 I get the best results using the smallest slide I can for the powder charge. When you get beyond that capacity, close the small slide and then go with the middle one. If you have a deep cavity and large flakes it doesn't drop as consistantly. Mine consistantly drops within the black on my RCBS 5-10, and usually touching the white.

A lot has to do with the size and shape of the kernels as well.

Boolit Master
    Don't forget to have the measure anchored securely and be consistent in operating the device. Notice the knocker on the measure.