Load DataInline FabricationTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
RepackboxSnyders JerkyReloading EverythingWideners
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: How much lube

How much lube

I have been handloading for many years and I have just started casting. I have read voluminous threads and have but one question. At this point I will start tumbling with Liquid ALOX. Eeventually may progress to other recipies.

Just HOW MUCH lube is necessary?

So far,I have lubed a couple batches .45 ACP and .45 COLT boolits but ....what a mess. (I probably used too much lube.)

Is it necessary to completely fill the grooves? I suppose that if I used too much, I can add more to the batches to spread it to more boolits.
    I will later cast faster loads(.357 magnum and a few rifle calibers).

The attached photo does not well represent reality. The lube is captured by the grooves but does not fill them. Overall coverage on the surfaces does not show well ((unless you enlage the photo) and the lube covers all surfaces.

Thank you in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P1000896.JPG  
    Last edited by eggbone; 02-06-2016 at 09:07 PM.

Straight Alox is too thick and goopy; it doesn't flow well, and tends to coat too heavily. I added mineral spirits to my bottle of Alox until it thinned pretty well. I only use drops at a time of thinned lube on pistol boolets. If you can see the coating, you probably have too much. There's no need to fill the lube grooves, in my opinion.
    Wayne
    What doesn't kill you makes you stronger - or else it gives you a bad rash.
    Venison is free-range, organic, non-GMO and gluten-free

Boolit Master
    When lubing with Alox, less is often better than more.

A good rule of thumb is that if you can see Alox on the boolits, you probably used too much. The goal is a very thin haze of lube on the boolits.

I borrowed a picture from Ben, showing tumble lube applied perfectly.

Will it still work if you use too much? Yes.