Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionLoad DataMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan ReloadingInline FabricationRotoMetals2Snyders Jerky
Wideners Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member with a Lee-Enfield

Boolit Man

New member with a Lee-Enfield

Hi, guys!
    I'm brand new to the forum, although I've been lurking for some time now. I have finally joined the forum because I would like some specific advice about a cast bullet load I have been giving some thought to. I have some experience reloading both pistol and rifle rounds, but have never dealt with either cast boolits or reduced powder charges. Here is what I would like to try: I would like to use this boolit,

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/459...ter-box-of-500

in a .303 British cartidge, using Red Dot powder. I would like to keep velocity low enough to avoid severe leading, but there is no need to be subsonic. (Although, I am not against a subsonic velocity, either, in fact, it might come in handy out in the backyard) How many grains of Red Dot should I use? Even just a range of powder charge weights would be helpful. Also, A charge weight for loading a "0" buckshot round ball would be appreciated. Thank you,

scottyp99

Welcome! You have a great, historic cast bullet rifle there. However Enfields usually prefer a fatter and heavier bullet than the one you linked to. A .315" bullet in the 160-180gr neighborhood would be closer to the norm. You need to do a 'pound slug' of your throat or at least do a slug through your bore. A cast bullet that is around .002" over your groove diameter, weighing 160-180grs over about 9grs of red dot would be a good place to start. Some Enfields are at their best with even fatter than .315" cast bullets. The bullet you mentioned might shoot OK at low velocity, you never know, but you will likely end up frustrated with it.
    Ten Bears; "You are the Grey Rider. You would not make peace with the bluecoats. You may go in peace."
    Josey Wales; "I reccon not."