Lee PrecisionLoad DataSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
RepackboxReloading EverythingInline FabricationWideners
RotoMetals2 Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ballistic tipped hollow points

Boolit Man

ballistic tipped hollow points

Question does any one know how to make or where to buy the plastic inserts found in hollow point bullets such as hornady vmax.....? They will be for homemade waged bullets.

Boolit Buddy

I do not have a direct idea where to get pre-made ones, but thinking outside the box a bit, if you plan on using a bunch, a cheap 3-d printer may be worth it. You can get a small one for a few hundred dollars. If you are able to print them you self you could get an almost perfect match for your particular bullets. It also give you a lot of different options. ...this is all hypothetical as I have no first hand experience with 3D printers but i keep coming up with ideas of stuff to print ...may be when the come down in price a little more. lol

Moderator Emeritus

I think someone was experimenting with plastic air-soft BB pellets.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

Boolit Man
    Ok cool ya I don't have the coin or time to mess with learning how to run a 3 d printer. Question with the air soft be I know at one point .hornady had problems with their ballistic tipped bullets melting at supersonic speeds. I wonder if a air soft be strong enough so they don't melt.

Boolit Master
    midway usa sells the optional tips for the raptor bullets but at about 50 cents each you can have them

Boolit Man
    Ill have to do some snooping around and figure out what the temp is at a bullets tip and see if there is a plastic that can stAnd up to the giving temp.