Reloading EverythingWidenersTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Load DataInline FabricationSnyders JerkyLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters Supply Repackbox
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 38-55 Highwall, 12 twist, 360 gr bullet, which BP do you recommend?

Boolit Bub

38-55 Highwall, 12 twist, 360 gr bullet, which BP do you recommend?

For those shooting 38-55 with heavy bullets, what is your recommended BP. I have some Goex 2F and some KIK 1.5. Only going to be shooting to 300 yards so probably don't need extra velocity but I have read that some use 3F in the 38-55. Just want to start where people have had success if possible. I am new to this BPCR stuff, years of shooting and reloading the modern stuff and now a whole different thing to learn. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Boolit Master

2F would be my choice.
    I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left.
    Paralyzed Veterans of America

Looking for a Hensly &Gibbs #258 any thing from a two cavity to a 10cavityI found a new one from a member here

Boolit Grand Master

When my rifle is done I plan on trying Swiss and old ensford 1.5f and 2f in it under 335 grn and 360 grn bullets.

Boolit Buddy
    Try what you have. I shoot 2fg Goex and Swiss 1.5 in my 38s with 335 grain and 360 grain money bullets .I have a David Mos 330 grain snover bullet that is really accurate.

Boolit Grand Master Don McDowell's Avatar
    I prefer the KIK over regular Goex, but next time you buy powder might want to try some Olde Eynsford in the 2f.
    Long range rules, the rest drool.

Boolit Man
    Quote Originally Posted by joelpend View Post