Load DataRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Reloading EverythingWidenersLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2 Titan Reloading

Thread: Powders equivalent thurstability and light charges. Please educate me

Powders equivalent thurstability and light charges. Please educate me

Hallo, I just started learning about light charges on my 30-30 win, 308 x-bolt and soon on my 45-70 sbl. I have the Lyman Cast Boolits III edition, the Modern Reloading Lee's Book aswell as others current manuals. I do not still bought Quickload software because the 3.9 ed is not on sale here, and 3.8 wouldn't run on my Win 10 Pc. But some forumers have often heleped me with load data. Cause most of the powders listed in light and reduced charges are not available here my quest is about using the equivalents listed here http://www.adi-powders.com.au/handlo...quivalents.asp. Say the Lymans Cast Bible list a starting load 11 gr Unique with a 420gr 457193 boolits can I confidently start working up my cartrige with equivalent Viht n330 and the 457643 424gr boolits dropped from the mould I have? I appreciate any input
    thankyou

Boolit Buddy

I use the 6.5 gr. Load. I think this info appeared on this forum some years back. Groups were measured at 50 yards. If you will notice the highest velocity load also has the biggest group size. This is because it is barely supersonic. By the time it gets to 50 yards it has gone subsonic and the bullets have started to yaw. So, if you want a load fast enough to be supersonic, load high enough to stay that way at the longest distance you will shoot. I've had people come over and ask about what kind of load I'm shooting. They see holes appear in my target, they hear a muffled pop and they don't see my rifle move while touching off a shot.