Reloading EverythingRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionWideners
Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Snyders Jerky Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: cast 230gr bullets breaking in toaster oven

Boolit Bub

cast 230gr bullets breaking in toaster oven

Hi,
    This is my first post, i just signed up. I am just getting into casting and have been following your forum for a few weeks now.. I really thank all of you for your knowledge and experience!!
    I have encountered a problem, I recently casted up a couple hundred bullets (lee 230 gr for 300 blackout) and I did the powder coating thing.. but when i put them in the oven i drilled holes in a piece of metal and tried to stand the boolits up-nose down in the holes. After cooking at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, i pulled them out and i noticed that some of the tips of the bullets actually broke off, and some were bent. At the break off point the bullets' interior looked "frosted" and not melted (see attached picture), what did i do wrong??
    NOTE: While casting, my pot did get over 900 degrees and some of those boolits may did come from that temp.. but with the boolits looking good i decided to keep them and not recycle.. After I cast the boolits i did notice frosting.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails broken boolits.jpg  

Boolit Buddy
    What kind of a casting pot do you have that would take the alloy to 900 degrees? How did you measure that temperature? Have you put an oven thermometer inside you oven and checked that actual temperature that is achieved when it is set to 400 degrees? What bullet alloy are you using?

Just off hand, I would say lower the temperature in your pot so that it is closer to just over the melting temperature of your alloy, check the oven temperature. Also, it would appears that from the crystalline structure, there is too much antimony in your alloy try diluting it with more pure lead.

On the other hand, your powder coating job looks really good.