Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
Inline FabricationLoad DataWidenersRepackbox
RotoMetals2 Titan Reloading

Thread: Handles needed for Hensley & Gibbs four cavity mold

Handles needed for Hensley & Gibbs four cavity mold

So, I have in my posession a very nice #130 mold. I am new to casting and have a limited selection of handles. That said, none of the ones I have fit.

The closest seem to be the large Lee #90005 six cavity type, but they are too thick. My Lee handles measure .307" thick. Only about .050 too thick to fit.

Is there any reason I could not grind these handles down to fit inside the H&G groove. The pins fit the holes and the spacing behind the pin eyeballs to be thin enough once it will fit into the grove. It looks like the handles close enough to close the mold.

Measurements of the mold in inches are as follows;
    1.125 mold width
    .581 across the mold inside the grove
    1.225 from the end of mold to the center of pin
    .142 diameter of pin
    .262 width of groove

Thank you for your help, Tim.

Moderator Emeritus

My answer to your query is to contact one of the (many) great CB Vendors -- KAL Tool & Die Bullet Mould Handles made and purveyed by Red River Rick on this site -- again, check out his listing on Vendor page. I have ordered and received several H&G Mould Handles from this vendor, and they look great, work beautifully, and are imho better than the ones from H&G! They're located north of the border, in Manitoba, BC, Canada -- but I had zero difficulty getting them delivered to me south of the border in Northern New York State. This vendor, and his products, have had my highest regard!
    BEST!
    geo

PS: I have a few 130s -- great mould!

Hi there Geo.

Thanks for the heads up. As I say, I am new to this world and was not familiar with RRR. I have looked at the Vendor forum (not for this) but honestly was a bit overwhelmed by the number of vendors available.

Off to the vendor forum...