MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingSnyders JerkyInline Fabrication
WidenersRepackboxLoad DataRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Grizzly tough bullet -.45-70?

Boolit Mold

Grizzly tough bullet -.45-70?

I want to get a mould and cast a good bullet for hunting in Grizzly country. I am looking for something between 400-500 grains that I can load for my .45-70 Marlin 1895 SBL. I want something with a wide meplat that can be driven fast enough to crush said Grizzlies. As I'm new to casting and the .45-70, what do you recommend for a mould, and do I still need to size and gas check etc. Any help is greatly appreciated

Mike

Boolit Master
    Are you hunting grizzly in grizzly country or hunting other game and wanting this for protection?

Boolit Mold
    Hunting moose and deer etc. Scared of dem big ol grizzlies. I want a bullet to stop a charge

The strongest reason for the people to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against the tyranny of government.
    -- Thomas Jefferson

In the Marlin I would stick to a 375-405gr bullet.

My personal pick? not entirely sure as I've never given it much thought as the nearest likely Grizzly is some 1500 miles away...

Not many Grizzlies outside of those in major Zoos in Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington...

Boolit Buddy
    Get a Lyman 457121PH. It is a 480 grain flat nosed bullet with seven grease grooves, and is magic in a 45-70. Cast it from AC WW and load it with 38 grains of 3031 for 1300 fps and you will shoot through any grizzly that walks from any angle. It cycles through my Marlin 1895 like butter. I have a friend in Alaska that runs this in his 1886 Winchester and loves it. I have not used it on bear, but I have gotten complete pass through on three different bison and several African animals with it. This is the Real Deal, not a guess.