Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
Load DataWidenersSnyders JerkyInline Fabrication
Repackbox RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: My Primer went ka-boom tonight

Boolit Man

My Primer went ka-boom tonight

Sitting here at 3 in the morning because I'm in too much pain to sleep. Typing with one finger. I'm not a newbie, been reloading 20+ years. have always used Lee priming tool to seat primers. Tonight while doing 45 colt BOOM. No clue why. Brass was trimmed , pockets cleaned, primers seated with normal seating pressure. Tore / burned most of the skin off left thumb. Plastic tray fragmented like a fragmentation grenade.

So I never want to hold a priming tool in my hand again. Still want to prime and load 50 cases at a time in loading blocks. Need recommendations for new priming tool.

What about the RCBS auto bench priming tool? Not sure how it works, advice?

Boolit Buddy
    Oh man! Not cool and sorry to hear that happened to you. You weren't using Federal primers were ya??

Boolit Grand Master

Get an x-ray for shrapnel and heal fast. Sore thumbs are a bummer.
    Been using a LEE priming tool forever with no problems. Have heard rumors, but this is the first, 1st hand account of such.
    Sorry to hear of your experience, but need to hear the details when you can.
    Was any extra pressure needed to seat this time? Which components? Was the primer possibly upside down?
    There is always the possibility of a freak accident, but we need to rule out all the variables we can.
    I just purchased the RCBS bench tool. Had been looking for one used for quite a while, and finally found one for cheap. RCBS supplied the 2 missing parts free. I had used one previously and liked it.
    Information not shared. is wasted.

Boolit Master
    Witch lee priming tool? Auto or ergo ?

Bonanza Co-Ax.