Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Load Data
Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxWideners
Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dove Hunt

Boolit Grand Master

Dove Hunt

Does anyone here Dove Hunt? I've been doing an old fashion Southern Style Dove Hunt for a few years now. A group of Friends show up Friday afternoon to shoot a few clay targets, share a drink or beer or two and cook burgers. The next morning we will have a good breakfast and head to the Dove field. We'll surround the field and shoot. Sometimes its really hot and heavy! This year it was slow. The guys on the Sunflower field limited out pretty quick but the wheat field was a bust. After the hunt it was back to my house for a fish fry. Fresh Crappy with all the trimmings! About 25 altogether, with several Wives, Daughters and Children. All in all, a great weekend with Family and Friends! And Arkansas even won, although they did not really play anybody!

Does anyone else do this? Lets hear about it!

Boolit Master

I haven't missed opening day in a decade or more. Been at since 63 and this year was the worse I've ever seen. Two shots, one bird and it was a Hail Mary shot with my full choke.

Farmers around the Phoenix area deliberately do not grow crops to attract Dove and Dove hunters. The so-called slob hunters leaving garbage, empty shells driving over cops caused it. The Rock Dove or more commonly called Morning Dove is all I see in my area. I could take a long drive into southern Arizona if I wanted White-Wings. Tried again yesterday, 5 hunters and only two birds. A dry year caused low numbers in central Az but quite the opposite in the southern part near the Mexican border.

Boolit Buddy
    No luck, wet and foggy, WRC didn't do much if anything planting the fields this year. Saw two birds. Lots of shooting coming from nearby fields, heard from others it was sporatic elsewhere so I'm not sure what folks were shooting at.

Boolit Master