MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxRotoMetals2Inline Fabrication
Snyders JerkyTitan ReloadingReloading EverythingWideners
Lee Precision Load Data

Thread: Naked swaging? (224 lead boolits?)

Question Naked swaging? (224 lead boolits?)

I went thru some swagin' posts, the stuff on core moulds and cut off tools is apropos, but all I want is to make 45 grain round nose (or something near to it) boolits for a 22 Hornet. As much as casting is fun, production of 225415s is slow.

Knurl or cannelure for lubrication?

Round or RFN? Is there a profile that is difficult to machine for, and therefor undesireable?

Speed from 1,000 - 1,600 fps. Plain base is fine, the 22 Hornet has a neck long enough to seat the boolit so the base is not below the neck.
    Belle, Belle, Belle!
    Purty Gu-ur-url!

Boolit Buddy

I am fairly new to swaging myself, but I will do my best. A round nose should be no problem to make (just takes patience and a bit of... ok a lot of spare change) to make the particular point/nose profile you would like. If speed is your goal get a core swage die to uniform up the slug of lead and just use cut wire.

As far as cannelure vs knurl, a cannelure is too small for adequate lube, they are meant to be a crimp groove so the bullet does not move in the case. The knurl will give you a lot of surface area and actually expand it just a touch creating a better gas seal. Another option may be to powder coat the swaged "naked" probably much cheaper (especially with shake and bake method) then buying a dedicated tool for canneluring/knurling (usually one tool can do both with different attachments.

Boolit Master
    I'd do Hi-Tek coating for lube. It'd save the work of knurling the bullets

Quote Originally Posted by tja6435 View Post
    I'd do Hi-Tek coating for lube. It'd save the work of knurling the bullets