Load DataRotoMetals2Inline FabricationWideners
Snyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLee Precision
Reloading Everything Titan Reloading

Thread: red dot sights

Boolit Master

red dot sights

any of you guys yse theses and witch ones do you use. do to eye problem i need to try something else to hunt with

Boolit Master
    What do you plan to put it on, handgun or rifle? I've been using them for over twenty-five years and owned a lot of them during that time. Your needs and equipment may dictate which one you use as well as how much you're willing to spend.

Banned

use them a lot. Not a whole lot on hunting guns though. I did shoot a deer last year with my Beowulf with an aimpoint comp 2 on it. Did fine at 50 yards. Problem with them is they don't work real well in low light. Its not that they don't work. If you can see the deer you can put the dot on it but they don't amplify light like a traditional scope does.

Try one before you buy, they (red dot sights) look like a bunch of grapes to me...

Boolit Master
    Red dot sights for work best at close to medium ranges. I use them on bows, shotguns, handguns and carbines, mostly for hunting out of treestands. For longer ranges, the dot covers up too much of the target for extreme accuracy. A smaller dot size translates to better accuracy. I prefer either the 1 or 2 minute dot, over the 4 or larger.

There is a multitude of choices, on the market. I started using Armson / Trijicon OEG's......and they spoiled me from all others. Fully automatic (light adjusting) and no batteries to fail or no switches to fiddle with. They were powered with a tritium lamp that had a shelf life of 10 years or more. Sadly, Trijicon doesn't support / re-lamp them any more.