MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingReloading EverythingWideners
RotoMetals2Load DataLee PrecisionRepackbox
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky

Thread: Decision- BAC or 2500+

Boolit Master

Decision- BAC or 2500+

I'm fairly new to the casting art. We shoot Cowboy action with 45 Colt and 38 Special. I am dabbling with 30/40 and 7.62x54r as well. We will be using light to moderate loads in all of these calibers.

Pistol boolits are sized in a Lam II and rifle in a Lyman 45. We don't shoot in freezing temperatures so that is not a factor.

We started off using White Label 50/50. It's worked fine but is a bit messy. Recently I loaded the Lam II with a stick of the green RCBS lube. It is stiffer but more importantly less messy to work with.

I would like to switch to something comparable from White Label. BAC and 2500+ seem to be the obvious choices as I want to stay away from heaters.

Any thoughts or advice are welcome.

I need to use a heater for 2500+, even at 75*F to get it to flow in a LAM II. I have no experience with BAC.

Banned

I would go with the Carnauba Red. This is from the FAQs

I have switched to C-Red for all of my cast bullets. I put on a Cowboy Action Shoot at a family reunion and we ran around 1600 38 special rounds through 2 revolvers and a Rossi M92 in one afternoon and the guns needed very little cleaning.

I guess I need to wrap this up before it turns into a book.

I would suggest that you try our Carnauba Red and BAC lubes. The C-Red is our only lube that needs a heater to flow in the luber, but only needs to be around 100F. A light bulb or hair dryer can work if you don't have a regular heater. I mounted my luber on a long steel plate and sit an old clothes Iron on the plate next to the luber.

Boolit Grand Master

Decision- BAC or 2500+