Load DataReloading EverythingInline FabricationLee Precision
WidenersRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2 Titan Reloading

Thread: Question on Turning Down Handgun Expander

Boolit Buddy

Question on Turning Down Handgun Expander

I have a set of RCBS 32 Long/32 H&R carbide dies and the die that does the expanding/flaring of the case mouth has an expander that mic's at .311." At first thought that doesn't seem too bad but I have a couple of 32 H&R's and one requires boolits sized to .312," and when loaded using this die the crimp and neck tension are definitely too little. As a result I'd like to turn it down to .310" or .309." I've read before that it's extremely easy but I've never done it before. What do you do, just chuck it in your drill press and use a mill file on the case expander part before the section where it flares the case mouth? Or do you use something lighter like emery cloth? Any info would be greatly appreciated. I didn't see much about doing this on the web.

Vendor Sponsor

File is too coarse. Emery cloth would work, you can hold a piece of wood behind it to direct where most of your work will be done. It is real easy to take too much off the bell that flares the case mouth. A drill press will probably work.
    Got a .22 .30 .32 .357 .38 .40 .41 .44 .45 .480 or .500 S&W cylinder that needs throats honed? 9mm, 10mm/40S&W, 45 ACP pistol barrel that won't "plunk" your handloads? 480 Ruger or 475 Linebaugh cylinder that needs the "step" reamed to 6° 30min chamfer? Click here to send me a PM You can also find me on Facebook Click Here.

Boolit Grand Master
    out of here, wandering somewhere in the SW.
    Best done in a lathe. Carbide is hard and about the only thing you can cut it with is harder carbide or diamond lapping compund.

Drill press? Mabe, but you have no real control of accuracy and run-out. It may work.....or you may be buying another die real soon!