RepackboxInline FabricationReloading EverythingSnyders Jerky
Load DataWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan Reloading
Lee Precision RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Contemplating Purchase of 45-70 - Recommend Best Rifle for the Round Please

Contemplating Purchase of 45-70 - Recommend Best Rifle for the Round Please

I am considering the purchase of a used rifle chambered in 45-70. No particular rifle in mind. But I have no experience with the 45-70. I would like to know what rifle has worked well for my fellow casters.

I would cast and reload for the rifle. I do know, from reading posts on this forum and elsewhere that there are several lever guns chambered for the 45-70. I have hunted with a pre-64 Winchester 94 in 30-30 and liked it. So, I am familiar with the lever action.

Pithy pronouncements preferred.

Thank you,

MichiganMike

Vendor Sponsor

Marlin Model 1895 with Ballard Rifling .. and JM Barrel Stamp
    There are several versions of this rifle.. 18" 22" and longer Blued, Stainless and laminated wood versions
    stay away from the newer Remington produced Marlins .. unkindly known as Remlins .. too many issues with quality control
    Last edited by Smoke4320; 04-02-2015 at 03:16 PM.
    [SIZE=4][B]Selling Hi Quality Powdercoating Powder

I carry a Nuke50 because cleaning up the mess is Silly !!

http://www.bing.com/search?q=nuke50&...7ADE&FORM=QBLH

I am not crazy my mom had me tested

Theres a fine line between genius and crazy .. I'm that line
    and depending on the day I might just step over that line !!!

Boolit Master
    My Marlin guide gun is one of my favorite rifles. The accuracy always surprises me and Ive never had any problems with it. It is a early 2000s JM stamped model.
    I was a dog on a short chain.
    Now there's no chain.
    Jim Harrison

Boolit Master

Looked at Henry ($644 Buds)
    http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/p...+American+Waln