RotoMetals2Load DataRepackboxInline Fabrication
Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading Everything Wideners

Thread: Monotype question

Boolit Mold

Question Monotype question

I'm a bit new to adjusting alloys. I've come across a bit of monotype and am wanting to mix it with "pure" lead to come up with something that approximates Lyman #2. From what I've looked at, it's going to be a bit tin rich unless I want to purchase some antimony bars.

4lbs of monotype with 16lbs of "pure" lead? I'm dealing with 20lb pots, hence my question in regard to that ratio.

Will it alloy on it's own, since the mono is already alloyed to lead? Are my numbers way off? What effect will the harder alloy have on diameter? Would it be better to mix this in with some known good clip on WW?

The desired end-game is to cast some 160'ish gr bullets in .284 to ring some steel with out of a 7 TCU. I typically drop my bullets into cool water, straight out of the molds. I have the ability to make up 100+/-lb batches to keep it consistent.

I'm very open to advice from the vast knowledge base here.

Boolit Man
    http://lasc.us/CastBulletAlloy.htm
    This should help you out providing your arithmetic is up to parr. I found the articles on that site to be most informative.
    There are several formulas listed that should steer you down the right path.
    Boolits! Gotta love'em!

A ratio of 2 lbs lead to 1 lb. monotype = 6.3% antimony / 3% tin / 91.7% lead.
    Thus it would be the same with 4 lbs Mono / 8 lbs lead.
    (Lyman No. 2 - 5% antimony / 5% tin / 90% lead)

4 lbs Mono / 16 lbs lead = 3.8% antimony / 1.8% tin / 94.4% lead

w30wcf
    aka w44wcf
    aka Jack Christian SASS 11993 "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." Philippians 4:13
    aka John Kort
    NRA Life Member
    .22 W.C.F., .30 W.C.F., .44 W.C.F. Cartridge Historian

Just use the calculator and all your questions should be answered. No need to guess.