RepackboxWidenersSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Load DataTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading Everything Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using Already Made Cast Boolits

Boolit Bub

Using Already Made Cast Boolits

Does anyone here order and purchase cast boolits form a bullet maker instead of casting your own? I may be way off base here, but it seems to me that it would be an easier and less expensive way to go. There are lots of bullet makers, mostly one man operations, on the net that sell most any type of cast boolit one would want. I say if one has the place to make them, the tools and the supplies, then go for it. It seems like a great hobby. I may even get into casting my own boolits someday, but for now, I am just getting into reloading with cast boolits for my center fire rifles after 50 years of reloading jacketed bullets. So for now, buying them ready made is a lot less expensive and more convenient for me. I also live in an apartment and just don't have a place to cast lead.
    xvigauge

Boolit Grand Master
    I normally don't buy cast boolits, but the few times that I have, I had no major complaints. The most important factor is to know what diameter will work, which is done by slugging the barrel. Sizing a commercially cast boolit down is easily done, but making them bigger is not.

That said, you can get into basic casting for one caliber for somewhere around $125, so money is not a major obstacle. If your life style will not allow casting, there's lots of good commercially cast boolits available.
    You cannot discover new oceans unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore

Boolit Master
    kind of defeats the purpose, plus you have to buy bigger and size, or be absolutely sure that they are the proper size. Commercial casters usually do not sell all mold shapes, depends what you want.