Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
WidenersLoad DataRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline Fabrication Repackbox

Thread: Black Powder Comparision

Black Powder 100%

Livingston, La. 20 miles east of Baton Rouge, La.

Black Powder Comparision

I just received a few cans of the Goex Olde Eynsford Powder in 2 and 3F grades. My first ever of this fairly new release from Goex. After reading so many positive postings and talking to shooters who had tested the powder, I thought it was time to check it out.
    I did what I always do with any Black Powder that I've never used before and that is to observe it on a slide under my old time mirror microscope. I put a small amount of the 2F on one end and a small amount of my test standard, Goex Cartridge on the other end.
    I saw right away why everyone has boasted of higher velocities. The 2F OE has grains of many different sizes with a light coating and sharp edges on the grains.
    The Goex Cartridge has larger grains that are more rounded and the coating has a sheen to it, which makes it appear to have a heavier coating.
    Being that BP grains burn from the outside in which is opposite of smokeless powder, if the grains are smaller with a light coating, it will burn faster and hotter than the Cartridge.
    I have yet to look at the 3 F and will give a report on that later.
    Take Care David
    Shooter of the "HOLY BLACK" SASS 81802 AKA FAIRSHAKE; NRA ; BOLD; WARTHOG;Deadwood Marshal;Bayou Bounty Hunter; So That his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat; 44 WCF filled to the top, 210 gr. bullet

Boolit Grand Master Don McDowell's Avatar
    David, you'll also see that the Eynsford 2f is smaller kernels than the Cartridge.
    Long range rules, the rest drool.

Boolit Grand Master In Remembrance