WidenersReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationLee PrecisionRepackboxTitan Reloading
Snyders Jerky Load Data

Thread: pellets

Banned

pellets

I am not new to muzzleloaders and black powder but I am new to the BP pellets.

Looking to get an inline and use pellets.

The question I pose is, do the blackpowder pellets, lose their potency over time.

I know from my own experience that Pyrodex RS, the loose stuff, does lose potency after a year or so.

Just wondering if the pellets do to, or not?

Boolit Buddy

Short answer is no, if you keep it in a controlled environment. I get better accuracy with loose powder.

Boolit Master

I also use and like loose powder so I can load something less than either 100 or 150 grains. I will say that 100 grains of Pyrodex loose powder is very accurate in my TC Encore. I expect two 50 gr pellets would be too and might be a little less hassle. Still I prefer loose to pellets. Just my $0.02.
    Mark 5:34 And He said to her (Jesus speaking), "Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace and be healed of your affliction."

I stopped using Pyrodex when I found 777 powder. To my knowledge it does not lose potency. I'm still on a pound can that I have had for maybe 4 or 5 years. I have always found better accuracy with loose powder. It seems that all my guns always liked something other than 2 or 3 pellets. 100 grains of loose 777 and Pyrodex always shot better than 2 pellets in my Encore. Loose powder is cheaper too.

Banned

I don't think that they make true black powder pellets.

Humidity is the issue. Keep it dry and it will work fine. I have some 3+ years old now that hold the same poi they always had at 200 yards. Keep yer pellets dry lol.
    If you think your a hammer everything looks like a nail.

Boolit Grand Master

I have Pyrodex that at least 20 years old and still shoots fine.
    Aim small, miss small!

Boolit Master

1720 miles East of Wall Drug, North of Cooperstown, NY