RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
Titan ReloadingWidenersLoad DataRepackbox
Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: cast boolit flaws due to shrinkage: announcing the solution (for me anyway).

Moderator Emeritus

cast boolit flaws due to shrinkage: announcing the solution (for me anyway).

Old photo, that I posted in cast pic of the month back in 2013.
    http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...-Imperfections

OK, I've been casting for 4 years.

As like many of us newbies, I am continually seeking to improve my technique. One issue I have had, mostly with long rifle boolits, is shrinkage. A few different examples of such are shown above.

I've asked questions about this, at least a couple times since I started casting. I've tried the suggested answers and while they may have been good ones, they weren't my solution.

For me, this shrinkage issue was about as random as it gets. sometimes it seemed like it was one particular cavity of a mold...so I'd try changing the order that I'd pour the cavities, many times it helped, but the shrinkage issues would always return sooner or later.

I tried different alloy formulations...more Tin, then Less Tin. Once in a while the problem seemed to get solved...only to show up in the next casting session ???

I obviously tried different alloy temperatures and casting faster (to raise the mold temperature) as well as casting slower and using a fan to cast with a cooler mold and getting shiny boolits. It seems each time I'd make a change and go with it, the problem would go away...only to show up after I'd get into a rhythm ...as soon as I'd get comfortable, the shrinkage issues would pop up and get more frequent.

I think I found the solution last summer. If you clicked on the link at the top of this post and scrolled down to #8 to see my March 2013 photo submission, you'll see I edited the text in August 2014 with what I figured out this summer.