Snyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
RepackboxLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Load Data
Titan Reloading Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feedback on mold for 45-70

Boolit Buddy

Feedback on mold for 45-70

I have been reloading for 15+ years but now getting ready to purchase a bullet mold for my 45-70 H&R single shot rifle. I have narowed it down to these 3x molds, and I would appretiate feedback on the pross/cons on each bullet design. I just want to buy ONE mold for my 45-70 that I can use with lighter loads/plinking, paper hole punching/bench shooting up to say 200 yards, and when pushed harder for hog hunting in Texas.

I plan on using Lyman #2 alloy, I will only use tumble/dip lubing with X-Lox (45-45-10 formula), and I will seat gas checks and size using a Lee sizing die which I lapped from .457" to .460" (my bore is .459+). With accurate molds, I am not worried about the exact weight/length since he can customize the design a little.

350/360 gr RD design from NOE:

Accurate 355RG, which except for the lube grooves is nearly identical to the RD above:

Accurate 375 (note different/larger meplat):

Is it fair to say that the RD and 355RG would have a slightly higher balistic coheficient?

Would the Accurate molds do better with tumble lubing?

Any other tips/advice?

Thanks in advance,
    Will

Boolit Master
    Of your 3 choices, I've used only the ranch dog 350, sized .459, in my Marlin with a .457 bore and can attest it is very accurate.
    Maineboy

Boolit Master
    I am a big fan of the NOE 460 405 RNFP mold for the 45-70 and highly recommend them.

Boolit Master

Of those choice, I would go with the 350. The meplat of the 375 is huge, and that will give it somewhat more drag, but I don't think it will be enough to matter. I think the BC on each of these choices will be very similar. And the 350 is fine for Texas.

In Remembrance