Load DataInline FabricationRotoMetals2Lee Precision
RepackboxTitan ReloadingSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
Wideners Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 cavity or 4 cavity

Boolit Buddy

2 cavity or 4 cavity

I only have 2 moulds, both 2 cavity. I am going to purchase my next mould, this time for 9mm/38 Super probably 130 or 135 grain (leaning towards 130 at this time). I am very new to this and think that the more holes you have in the mould, the better technique you probably should have. I did pretty well with the Hardline Industries moulds in 40 and 45 (2 cavity). Should I try 4 cavity or stick with the 2 cavity? These things are not cheap and I don't want to make a $150 mistake.

South of the north pole in the land of the falling waters
    I find my four and six cavity moulds are about as easy to use as the two cavity . Each one likes it's lead served up slightly different and I'm sure you will adapt , get a good quality mould though and you will not be sorry you did .

Jack
    Buy it cheap and stack it deep , you may need it !

Black Rifles Matter

Boolit Master
    For my pistol I like the most cavities available. Most people shoot more pistol ammo than rifle.
    For rifle bullets I prefer 1 or 2 cavities. In most cases the bullets will be more uniform.
    Just my 2 cents

Boolit Master

Depends on how many bullets you want.

I find I can drop around 200 to three hundred in an easy morning with a two cavity ( around two hours )

The same number increases to around 400 to 500 with a six cavity.

They do not scale exactly because more cavities take more work and they drain the pot so fast you will likely have to wait occasionally for new ingots to melt. ( I do not preheat mine. )
    First reload: .22 Hornet. 1956.
    More at: http://reloadingtips.com/

"Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the
    government take care of him better take a closer look at the American Indian."
    - Henry Ford