RepackboxRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionReloading Everything
Snyders JerkyWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Load Data Titan Reloading

Thread: Check my 45-70 load

Boolit Buddy

Check my 45-70 load

I am getting a 415 grain accurate mold. I have not been able to find much data on 415 grain loads, so I am basing it on 420 grain Lyman data. I have a new Marlin 1895 SBL. I was looking at starting with 35 Grains of IMR-4198 and working up to 42 grains. I have CCI primers; not sure if I should use magnum primers or the large rifle. Also, are the 4198 or the IMR-3031 temp sensitive? I also have some 3031 powder on hand to try. I was thinking starting at 43grains and going up to 47. Another question I have, is will there be enough loose space in my cartridge to justify using some Dacron? This is my first time loading a straight walled cartridge so I am looking forward to that!

Boolit Master
    Jeyvod, I have had good results as low as 32 grains of 4198 behind similar weight boolits in my guide gun. Current favorite is a 420 grain group buy and 25.3 grains of 2400.

Magnum rifle primers shouldn't be necessary, but if that's all you have, give them a try.

One thing I learned about the levergun throwing heavy boolits at moderate velocities, is that you have to treat it like a big pistol--- consistent hold is mandatory for getting the holes close together on target.

Love my 45-70. And its great that I can load an extremely effective large game round for less than most are paying for .22WMR cartridges.
    You have the right to force me to pay for the feeding, housing, clothing, education, and medical treatment of yourself and your children when I have THE RIGHT TO FORCE YOU TO PICK MY COTTON!

Section 1 13th Amendment to the Constitution:
    "Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as punishment for a crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction."