Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2WidenersMidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline FabricationReloading EverythingLee PrecisionRepackbox
Titan Reloading Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 223/5.56 brass questions

Boolit Mold

223/5.56 brass questions

Hoping this is in the right place since it is mainly about brass and reloading.

I'm trying to learn about 223/5.56 brass and would like to find a source of info that I can refer to for general information on processing and reloading. Right now I am just getting into loading of handgun rounds, but my brothers in law all have rifles and I know I'll be on their list of people to hit up.

To be more specific, I am trying to figure out what the difference is between all the different headstamp brass, whether on is more desirable than another, or if it really doesn't matter.

I already assume that I'll have to deprime, tumble, trim, and possibly swage the primer pockets. However, I am seeing people anneal and maybe even take a few other steps that I really have no idea about. I see brass selling for a huge range of prices and as far as I can tell, the big difference seems to be headstamp or origin of the brass. I'd like to find out more about this so I don't wind up with a 30 pound box of weight only good for holding my bench down.

Thanks

Boolit Master
    If you'd like to start the 223/5.56 Reloading Learning Curve, you can't go wrong starting with Lake City brass... It will never be a boat anchor in your basement... Why?? Because there's LOTS of it available from numerous sources, and the U.S. military keeps creating more empties every day... If you had the $$$, you could easily find enough LC brass to outfit you and your family for the rest of your lives...

Boolit Grand Master

Brass brand is like truck brands to some people. Use whatever you can get for a decent price since you are just starting out. You are going to screw up some cases. Only you can determine what brands work best for you.

Boolit Mold