MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationLoad DataReloading Everything
Snyders Jerky Lee Precision
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Original Remington Creedmoor - need a mold

Boolit Mold

Original Remington Creedmoor - need a mold

All:

Newbie here.

I have owned this Original Rem Creedmoor for 30 plus years and I'm finally getting together the necessary components to shoot it. It is in outstanding condition, complete with both tang and the butt sight mount.
    Barrel is marked 44s-100 but casts as 44 Remington Special. The barrel is 5 groove so measuring the bore is a bit tricky - best I can tell is groove .446 and bore .443. Very little free bore - maybe .190 from case mouth to start of rifling.

I have 40 new cases (HDS 44 Sharps BSC) that I have sized and trimmed. Fired formed a few with cream of wheat.

Now I need to find a Boolit. Paperpatch? I'm leaning that way, more because that was how it was built and the freebore might make a GG a tougher mold to find.

Anyone with directions on getting some boolits to try or what I should do next please clue me in.

I've read Matthews book -"The paper Jacket" and the process does not seem that tough, I just don't want to screw this old girl up.

Best,

Mark
    In North Dakota

Hi Wollybugger, welcome to the forum!

That rifle is undoubtedly designed to shoot bullets patched to bore diameter. One of the best books available now is by Randolph Wright, I think it's called "A beginner's guide to paper patched bullets" or something similar. Bill Ferguson (the antimony man) sells it, as does several other vendors. It will take you through the whole process and is more applicable to your situation than the Paper Jacket is.

If you don't know about Buffalo Arms (BACO) you need to check out their web site and get a catalog. They sell moulds, pre made bullets, patching paper, wad material, wad cutters, etc. Everything you need to get that rifle up and running like it is supposed to.