RepackboxInline FabricationTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
Load DataSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 375 Holland & Holland Paper Patch

375 Holland & Holland Paper Patch

This is my first try at Smokeless Paper patching, Remington 700, 375 H&H

RCBS 37-250-FN--------sized @ 0.368----------patched to--0.378------------Johnsons Paste Wax on the paper to slick the it up for re-sizing----------------final sized to 0.3765

groove diameter is 0.3755

Wheel Weights +2 % tin--------------composition pad paper wet wrapped oven dried

40 grains IMR 3031 cuz i got some

first 3 shots just to see what happens-----------they all went off

No leading --like "0" !!!!!------------patch completely confettied

Lyman says 45 grains max---------i'm going to try 40-42 and 44 and see what primers look like------if pressure seems ok I'll step up on 1 grain increments until some signs of pressure show up----i'm betting it will go above 50 grains (i have researched a little and see loads of 53 grains behind 300 grain PP slugs)

I'll pick a nice load that's easy on pressure and hopefully around 2200 FPS and load some for accuracy testing later in the week.

pics of slug before and after patching----loaded round and loaded j-word round

Dave

Looks like a very good start to a addiction! Once you see what this PP stuff can do you'll never want to shoot naked again.

Using 3031, 55gr. will give you right at 2200 fps and still be only 25,000 psi. If you have any accuracy issues, a bit of polyester or dacron fluff between the boolit and powder often helps with loads in that range.

Keep at it, you'll be hooked for sure!

-Nobade