RotoMetals2RepackboxReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionWidenersLoad DataTitan Reloading
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky

Thread: Throats at .431, barrel at .416 - What am I missing here?!?

Boolit Buddy

Throats at .431, barrel at .416 - What am I missing here?!?

I'm in the process of measuring the throats and barrel on my Ruger RH .44 magnum. I'm using a new set of pin gauges that are ZZ minus.

On the cylinder throats, the .431" gauge slides in with no play, on all cylinders. On the barrel, starting at the crown end, a .417 initially fits, but with a restriction about 1" in, and a .416 will slide all the way through.

Since I am new to this, and this is the first use of pin gauges, with the intent of firelapping the barrel to increase accuracy, the difference in the pin gauges is confusing to me.

In reading Fermin Garza's write-up on the topic, I was under the impression that the throats should only be slightly larger than the barrel at .001". Mine are .015" larger.

So, I'm of the impression that I am missing something in my understanding of the process and would greatly appreciate if you kind folks could get me squared away in my understanding.

Let me know if I need to provide more info, or if I need to correct my methods.

Thank you.

G

You are measuring the bore diameter, not the groove diameter. You'll need to slug the barrel to get the groove dimension.
    R.M.

The tree of liberty must be watered periodically with the blood of tyrants and patriots alike..........Thomas Jefferson

Boolit Buddy
    Quote Originally Posted by R.M. View Post
    You are measuring the bore diameter, not the groove diameter. You'll need to slug the barrel to get the groove dimension.
    *smacks head*....I did not even consider that and had the lead ball for slugging it right in front of me.

Thank you.

Boolit Buddy
    I slugged the barrel and it measure out to .4306 and .4307 the two times I did it.