MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersSnyders JerkyRepackbox
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLoad DataRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Printer toner as a PC?

Boolit Buddy

Printer toner as a PC?

I was thinking earlier (I know, that's dangerous), and I work on printers for a living. Laser printers use static electricity to stick toner to the paper, then heat the toner to make it bond.
    This sounds a lot like powder coat, but possibly thinner, and with maybe a little less heat.
    Has anyone actually tried using laser printer toner as a PC? If not, I may have to give it a try, as I throw away a LOT of black toner in any given year, and just emptying the waste toner bottle on some printers could easily give half a pound of the stuff.
    "Indeed the safest road to Hell is the gradual one--the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts.." - C.S. Lewis, The Screwtape Letters

Boolit Buddy
    sounds like it should work great and your the guy to try it

any chance you can remove the high voltage static parts and make a spray gun and or static bowl?

Boolit Buddy
    You know, I may well wind up tearing apart a printer soon... Then again, maybe I won't have to, since I am likely to wind up with all the required components to try just that before too long.
    The big thing with making a spray gun or static bowl is I'll have to see how the production stuff is made first, but I'd bet I can modify old printer components to work the same way. Whether or not it would be economical would be the real question. For most people, I suspect that would not be the case. However, since I always wind up with those components one way or another, I'll likely have the necessary components to at least experiment some before too long.