Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading Everything
Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Wideners
Snyders Jerky Repackbox

Thread: Suggestions for using a new (to me) 4 cavity NOE 500 gr , 500 S&W mould

Boolit Bub

Suggestions for using a new (to me) 4 cavity NOE 500 gr , 500 S&W mould

I did some searching , but didn't find what I "think" I might need to know for using a mould like this

Most of my casting in the last few years has been for my 45-90 and 45-110, grease groove and paper patch, 450-550 gr bullets with single cavity iron moulds , using my Waage pot and a ladle .

Using the ladle (as suggested by many of the long range BP guys ) for the bigger and heavier bullets gave me a much more consistent bullet weight

This is a new/ used ??? 4 cavity mould

The only multi-cavity mould I ever used , was a 2 cavity 38 swc iron mould ,and that was many years ago.

I have no experience with aluminum moulds.
    I read where they tend to cool off faster than iron moulds , and I am wondering if using the ladle method will keep
    it hot enough.

My ladle will easily hold enough lead for two of the cavities and I would have to go back to the pot to fill the other two cavities..
    Does this sound like it will work ,or maybe give me some problems ?

I also have a bottom pour RCBS pro-melt furnace, just wondering how that will work with the 500 gr bullets.

I did think that maybe using the bottom pour , it would fill the mould quicker and keep it hotter???

Does the NOE mould need any kind of break-in , or smoking , etc. ?

I know that I should use some sprue plate lube , and I do have some Bullshop lube .

thanks in advance , any and all suggestions welcome

Joe

Boolit Master

pm sent
    Every shot you get in life counts

Boolit Master